I'm a beginner in phyton. i'm just starting to read things about phyton because we need it for our project. I really need basic and detailed instructions on how to use it and use it using notepad++. Could someone help me? or teach me? ill also do my part and do more researches so plss help me :) pls make it as simple as possible for me to understand. :)

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

so if I understan corectly you want instructions on how to code python in Notepad++ then run it if so you would do this:
make sure you've downloaded and installed python!!! (it's best to download 2.7)
1. open Notepad++ and set the file as python (at the bottom of the window there should be a menu with many different languages you can code in, select python from that list)
2. Code normally
3. save as a .py file
To run:
1. open CMD (command prompt (i'm assuming your on windows as you're using notpad++))
2. navigate to the directory your .py file is in using the cd command
3. use this command:

python <filename>.py

insert the file name where it says <filename> then hit enter, if there are no errors the code will run, if there are errors then it will tell you so.

Also when you install python it comes with it's own IDE to get to it do this:
1. on your desktop (or somewhere) there should be a python 2.7 directory (or a different version) open it
2. in it you should see IDLE, open that, it should come up with terminal like window
3. go to File > new, or use CTRL+N which will open a new window which resembles a simple text editor, code python normaly in it
4. save your code as a .py file

to run from that:
1. press f5 or goto run>run module, it may prompt you to save, do so
2. the teminal-like window from before will come up and it will show any errors in there, and if your coding a command line interface it will work like you CMD would

if you have any questions please ask :)