I'm new to C and I'm trying to convert decimal to binary. The result is giving me an inverse number of what's required. I tried to apply modulo on the result like I saw on other forums but I still get the same result. Any help?

#include<stdio.h>

int main()
{
    int number;
    long int quotient, rem, result=0;
    printf("Enter a number: ");
    scanf("%d", &number);

quotient=number;

while (quotient!=0)
    {
        quotient=quotient/2;
        rem=quotient%2;
        rem = rem%10;
        printf("%ld", rem);
    }
}

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Here's one way to do it.

Because you're essentially looking at the least significant bit first, you're printing them first, and as a result, the number is being printed backwards.

A couple of notes here. The line rem = rem%10 more than likely does not do anything because the line rem=quotient%2 guarantees that rem will either be 1 or 0. The line quotient=quotient/2 may cause you to lose the first bit of your answer completely as well.

I'm not sure what the other answers looked like, but division and modulo may not be the best way to print this stuff out, especially in C where prepending to a string is not trivial. It may be a good idea to look into actual bitwise math operations.

I'm not sure what the other answers looked like, but division and modulo may not be the best way to print this stuff out, especially in C where prepending to a string is not trivial. It may be a good idea to look into actual bitwise math operations.

It's decent enough, provided you reverse the string before printing it. This of course brings into question whether you can afford the memory cost of storing the characters, but often that cost is negligible.

Another alternative, assuming the number of bits are relatively small, is recursion.

i tried many times please let me know what's wrong with my code

#include<stdio.h>

void Reverse(long int n)
{
    long int reverse = 0, rem;
    while (n!=0)
    {
        rem=n%10;