I just started programming in C our first asssignment is writing an alogrithm to compute the volume of water in cubic feet, flowing through a pipe of diameter d in feet, with a velocity of v feet per second, give this fomula

r=d/2
area=pi x r squared
volume = area x v

Below i have gotten written in the C source code, my instructor says to write the algorithm like a person normally does,
So does that mean pseudo code or a flowchart or a structure chart? If it is pseudo code how do i do that, we haven't covered anything about writing in pseudo code.

int main() {

double d;//Variable to store value of diameter variable
    double v;//Variable to store value of Velocity
    double r, PI, area, volume;

printf("Enter a value for diameter : ");//Prompts the user to enter diameter
    scanf("%lf", &d);//Saves the value entered by user to d variable

printf("Enter a value for velocity : ");//Prompts the user to enter velocity
    scanf("%lf", &v);//Stores value to variable v

r = d/2.0;  // Calculates value of r 
    PI = 3.14;  //Constant PI
    area = PI*r*r; //Calculates area and store sin variable named area
    volume = area*v; //Calculates volume and stores in variable named volume

printf("Volume of water flow is : %f\n" , volume);//Prints the value of volume variable

system("PAUSE");
    return 0;//Exit

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

Pseudo code, Flow charts, etc are nothing more than a human legible medium to stage the logic so that it can then be translated into code.

For instance you can translate this human readable line...

Ask the user for a floating point number

into this code...

printf("Prompt: ");
scanf("%f", &Variable);