Hi,
Im just new to this language and I would like to know what does this groovy regular expression match too. I was not able to figure it by online articles.if some would would give an explanation i would greatly appreciate.

the 3 regular expressions are :

static propertyPattern = ~/@property\s([\w, =]+)\s(\w+)\s(*?)\w/

static methodPattern1 = ~/(-|+)\s(((?:const)?)\s(\w+)\s(<[\w\s,]+>)?\s(*?))\s(\w+)(:\s(((?:const)?)\s(\w+)\s(<[\w\s,]+>)?\s(*?))\s(\w+))?\s/
static methodPattern2 = ~/(\w+):\s
(((?:const)?)\s(\w+)\s(<[\w\s,]+>)?\s(*?))\s(\w+)/
static methodPattern3 = ~/,\s(...)\s$/

thanks
appreicate a reply

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

hi can anyone give me a like to a java regular expression debugger that will show the matching parts of the string
thanks in advance

... and if not maybe someone has some ideas about how to write one? That would be a really ace project.

I'm not an expert with regex, but have used it. I think that many of the regex engines use similar syntax although there are some small differences. What worked for me was to start with a small regex expression, test it and then keep adding to it until it did everything I needed. I don't know anything about groovy, but I think that the regular java regex may work.

Rather than starting with:

Start with

static propertyPattern = ~/@property\s([\w, =]+)/

or less if that is not returning any results.

Here is some basic stuff:
The regular expression is surrounded by forward slashes:

~/ your_regular_expression_goes_here /

\s matches a space, a tab, a line break, or a form feed

\w matches word character [A-Za-z0-9_]

? at end matches zero or one of the preceeding element

* at end matches zero or more of the preceeding element

+ at end matches one or more of the preceeding element

$ at end, matches the end of the string

[] : anything inside bracket are "or"...if it matches anything inside the bracket, it matches.

*? matches like *, however match is smallest possible match