Out of my depth a little :-) How do I create a pair of longitude and latitudes to create a polygon showing a 2 mile radius of a particular longitude and latitude? in Java Android. I know how to find your current longitude and latitude but I just can't figure out the above.

My code so far is below:

LocationManager lm = (LocationManager)getSystemService(Context.LOCATION_SERVICE); 
    Location location = lm.getLastKnownLocation(LocationManager.GPS_PROVIDER);
    double longitude = location.getLongitude();
    double latitude = location.getLatitude();

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

Click Here for a resource.

Also Here is another resource.

Here is another.

Those resources don't really help (as from what I understand of Haversine formula, it requires 2 sets of longitudes and latitudes from the onset. Which is what I'm trying to attain via this question) do you personally have any opinions or skills in this field which can help?

I'm no expert, but maybe this will help:
There's a simple formula for the distance between two long/lat points (Google!). You can rearrange that that to make the distance fixed and either the second long or the second lat the unknown. This will give you four new long/lat points, N.S.E.amd W of the original by the exact distance - thus defining a polygon. With a bit more math you can solve it to get the four points NE,NW.SE and SW, and with a bit more math again any of the infinite number of points that lie on your circle.
If I'm missing yout point here, just ignore this.

I apologise, I've made a mistake. There should actually three pairs of longitude and latitude coordinates to form a radius of 2 miles around the user's location expressed earlier. Hopefully this helps. sorry again :-)

So that's any three points on the circle? Eg 2 miles North, 2 miles South 2 miles East of the location?