I am having trouble saving dates to my MySQL database (code below)

C#

var abook = db.egw_addressbook.Local.FirstOrDefault(o => o.contact_id == 16875);
    abook.org_name = mvm.org_name;
    abook.hex_srv_start = mvm.hex_srv_start;

db.SaveChanges();
    MessageBox.Show("Saved");

XAML

<DatePicker x:Name="Txthex_srv_start" SelectedDate="{Binding hex_srv_start}" HorizontalAlignment="Left" Height="26" Margin="10,55,0,0" VerticalAlignment="Top" Width="111" />

If I make any changes to the date, I get the following error:

Error: Validation failed for one or more entities. See 'EntityValidationErrors' property for more details. - -2146232032

Any ideas?

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

What does the EntityValidationErrors property contain?

Thanks for helping me out (I'm new to this and still strugling)

Property: hex_srv_start Error: The field hex_srv_start must be a string or array type with a maximum length of '12'.

When you set up EF, did you use Code First or Database First design methods?
It looks like hex_srv_start is the wrong variable type for what you're trying to enter. Is the variable definitely a string type? If so, it may be that you're recording too much data.

Example;
21st Jan 2014 has 13 characters
21/01/2014 00:00:00 has 19 characters

It was using "Database first". I have just opened up the MySQL table and it's of type - VARCHAR(12). When I look at egw_addressbook.cs, it has the syntax as: public string hex_srv_start { get; set; }.

Would setting the format of the DatePicker object do the trick (I am only guessing)?

It looks like I need to format the DatePicker within the XAML, as the field that I am trying to store the value into wants: YYYY-MM-dd and the DatePicker is providing the format as MM/dd/YYYY 12:00:00 AM.

Any ideas as to how I can convert this within the XAML (if indeed that is where I do it).

You can use a Binding Converter to get what you need. It will allow you to do pretty much anything to the data before it is used.