Hello all,

I am getting 3 errors when I try to use stacks when I want to evaluate a postfix expression. I am not very experienced with the usage of stacks so please be patient with me.

Here is my code:

//The postfix parameter is a postfix string that was done through a shunting yard algorithm and is now passed through to the evaluate function
int Expression::evaluate(string postfix)
{
    // ERROR 1 //
    stack<int> resultStack = new stack<int>();

int length = postfix.length();

for (int i = 0; i < length; i++)
    {
        if ((postfix[i] == '+') || (postfix[i] == '-') || (postfix[i] == '*') || (postfix[i] == '/') || (postfix[i] == '^') || (postfix[i] == 'sqrt') || (postfix[i] == 'log') || (postfix[i] == 'abs') || (postfix[i] == '~'))
        {
            // ERROR 2 //
            int result = doTheOperation(resultStack.pop(), resultStack.pop(), postfix[i]);

resultStack.push(result);
        }
        else if ((postfix[i] >= '0') || (postfix[i] <= '9'))
        {
            resultStack.push((int)(postfix[i] - '0'));
        }
        else
        {
        }
    }

// ERROR 3 //
    return resultStack;
}

//The operations that must be done if a specific operator is found in the string
int Expression::doTheOperation(int left, int right, char op)
{
    switch (op)
    {
        case '+':
            return left + right;
        case '-':
            return left - right;
        case '*':
            return left * right;
        case '/':
            return left / right;
        case '^':
            return pow(left,right);
        case 'sqrt':
            if(right < 0)
            {
                string temp = "Square root of a negative number.";
                throw temp;
            }
            else
            {
                return (sqrt(right)) ;
            }
        case 'log':
            if (right < 0)
            {
                string temp = "Error. Not able to get the log of zero.";
                throw temp;
            }