Hello all. So, I'm in my final year of my B.Tech. in computer science programme and I have to do a project for my final year. The thing is I want the project to be unique/innovative. I brainstormed a few things:

1. An online music player that can store your local computer files on cloud. Sorts them according to album, artists, stars, favorites, etc. You can listen to your songs anywhere on any anydevice once the are synched. But this is already implemented by amazon as cloudplayer.com. Is there any extra feature or more innovative faeture that I can implement.
  2. Then I thought of building an OS from scratch or may be re-using a few things. But is it feasible in 7-8 months in a group of two people??
  3. A search Engine that uses big data to query and rank results using MapReduce - is it good enough? Is it feasible??

I'd really like to know your thoughts on these or may be you can suggest some other project or idea that I can implement.
Thanks in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 15 Replies

So, I'm in my final year of my B.Tech. in computer science programme

You're in your final year, but you haven't found something you might be interested in?

The problem with the 3 things you listed is that they don't have much do to with computer science at all. It sounds more like it's for "software engineering"/"software development"/"programming" which is a quite a bit different then computer science. Is that ok with you?

Also, they seem to be "big" projects, but they're not interesting (in a sense of computation).

For project's more clostly related to Computer Science:

1. How about a GPU-implemented neural network for phones. The problem with phones is that most don't have OpenCL/Cuda availibility, which means you'll probably want to use OpenGl shaders. I beleive this would be the first of it's kind, since most libraries I see are based on either Cuda, OpenCL or the CPU. It's also somewhat usefell, and can be interesting for a game.