waitTime = start + intCnt
Debug.Print Timer, waitTime, "start"

Do While Timer < waitTime
Debug.Print Timer, waitTime
DoEvents
Loop
GoTo Gettime

End Sub)
The Code works. So far but it uses 50%cpu. Are there any ways of writing the timer delay routine to reduce the cpu usage. Sleep doesnt seem to be available in VB5
I'm a novice at writing code been away from coding for several years.
The OS in win XP and VB is version 5 with sp3.

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

Use a timer control instead of a loop. This should all but eliminate your CUP Usage.

Just a a quick test, I created a new project, set form1 to open form2 every 2 seconds via timer control, and put a timer on form2 which unloaded from memory every 1 second.

I coun't get anymore than 15% CPU usage with avg around 7%. With the timer set to 150000 on form1, CPU usage was avg 2%, max 5% when counting down and max 7% when actually loading and unload form2.

Of course, CPU usage will vary depending on what system specs you have.

Mine is Athlon XP 3000+ (2.17 GHz) and 768MB RAM.

Yup, he's right. Truth is, that's exactly what the timer control is for.

Member Avatar for joe935

Thanks Guys.
Ok i tried using a timer control but i cant get the timer to start. Maybe you can tell me whats wrong. Here's the code:

Private Sub Form_Load()
 On Error Resume Next
 CenterForm
 LoadAgent "merlin"
 theAgent.Speak "Hello"
 theAgent.Hide
Gettime:
Do
 Mytime = Time
 Myhour = Hour(Mytime)
 Myminute = Minute(Mytime)
 Mysecond = Second(Mytime)
 Debug.Print Mysecond, Myminute
 If Mysecond = 0 Then
     If Myminute = 15 Or Myminute = 30 Or Myminute = 45 Or Myminute = 1 Then Exit Do
 End If
Loop
 theAgent.Show
 theAgent.Play "announce"
 theAgent.Speak "The time is " & Myhour & ":" & Myminute & "."
 theAgent.Play "announcereturn"
  theAgent.Hide
  Do Until Mysecond > 0
    Mysecond = Second(Time)
  Loop

Timer1.Interval = 60000
Timer1.Enabled = True
GoTo Gettime

End Sub

Private Sub Timer1_Timer()
If intCnt = 14 Then