Greetings,

I am new in Java programming language and I know that there are four platforms of the Java programming language
Java Platform, Standard Edition (Java SE)
Java Platform, Enterprise Edition (Java EE)
Java Platform, Micro Edition (Java ME)
JavaFX

I already read about the four platforms through the below link

Click Here

But what I want to make sure of it by experts here that Java EE has more packages than Java SE and Java ME has less packages than Java SE and definitely than Java EE. Also I need to know where can I find a list of these different packages.

I've downloaded the Java SE Development Kit from the linke below

Click Here

I've download the Eclipse IDE also. Can I write application(s) that connects to database or I have to download the Java EE SDK as it contains packages which in turn contains the classes by which I can connect to the database and execute queries etc. and these packages do not exist in Java SE SDK, and the same question if I want to write application(s) for a mobile device(s) do I have to download the Java ME SDK or I can begin write such application(s) without the need to download these SDK(s)?

Thanks in advance

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

You can very easily write applications that connect to a DB using just the Java SE JDK.

but, my recommendation: if you are just starting with Java, as you say you are, you should start by learning Java. don't try to go from zero to a hundred in less then a second. sure, it's really nice going that fast, except when there's a brick wall fifty feet ahead of you.

Start with learning the language. any decent (and somewhat complete) course on the basics of Java take about a year. I 'm not saying you have to spend this much time, I am saying however, you shouldn't try to skip learning the basics.