Please I need a java expert to help me with the code and algorithm that deletes duplicate element from an array.
I have written a programm to do this as shown below using my own algpritm. Though it is working but I think my code is too long for this exercise. I am a beginner in Java. see code below;

Inline Code Example Here

public class ArrayDuplicateRemoval {

int [] rawArray = {1,2,3,1,2,3,4,4,2,1,2,1,5,1};
        int [] newArray = new int [rawArray.length];
        int countA = 0;
        int countB = 0;
        public static void main(String[] args) {
          ArrayDuplicateRemoval dup = new ArrayDuplicateRemoval();
          dup.feedArray();
          dup.displayArray();
        }
      public void feedArray(){
      if(countA < newArray.length){
          removeDuplicate(rawArray[countB]);
      }
      }   
    public void removeDuplicate(int arrayElement){
    for (int x:newArray)
             if (arrayElement == x)
          {
            countA++;
            countB++;
            feedArray();  
         }   
    for (int m:newArray) 

if ((m != arrayElement )&(countA < newArray.length))
        {
        newArray [countA] = arrayElement;
        countA++;
        countB++;
        feedArray();
        }     
    }

public void displayArray(){
    System.out.println("Values in the raw array are listed below");

for(int k: rawArray)
    System.out.printf(" %d", k);
     System.out.println();
         System.out.println("\nValues in the array after duplicate numbers are removed");

for(int c: newArray)
       {
        if( c != 0)
       System.out.printf(" %d", c);
       }
       System.out.println();
    }

}

Please help me with the shortest possible algorith that will perform the same function.
    Thank you in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

What if you use a data structure called Set, it doesn't hold duplicate elements