Hello im a total noob in java, im learning game development, i made this game and when i thought i was finish i tested in another android with a smaller screen and puf all the game was ugly. I started rezing evrything by screen width, example

batch.draw(position.x, position.y,Gdx.graphics.getWidth()/7, Gdx.graphics.getWidth()/7 );

ive resized all textures and background and now it looks the same in both devices.

I feel this method to this is sketchy, already did it but in my futures games, is there a easier way to accomplish this ?

Also the speed of the enemy is moving faster in one devices, I did the speed times delta thing and still :/

Sorry for my bad english
Thank you very much

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

Maybe you could render all your graphics at some fixed resolution (eg HDTV) and use a scale(double sx, double sy) to scale all the contants to whatever the actual screen resolution is?

As for speed... what Timer are you using?

Im using Gdx.graphics.getDeltaTime();
Thanks for replying

Maybe you could render all your graphics at some fixed resolution (eg HDTV) and use a scale(double sx, double sy) to scale all the contants to whatever the actual screen resolution is?

As for speed... what Timer are you using?

Normal practice for Java animation is to use a java.util.Timer scheduleAtFixedRate to update the state of the model, then invalidate the GUI state to force a re-draw. That way the animation proceeds at a constant speed and the screen gets updated as often as possible.

I gotta be honest with you james, i did not understood anything you said Im very noob in java, i did this

java.util.Timer timer = new java.util.Timer();
System.out.println(timer);

And it print out this

java.util.Timer@26838573
java.util.Timer@513f9590
java.util.Timer@75ce5af9
java.util.Timer@53850507
java.util.Timer@7233bb11

are u saying that i should multiply speed * timer?
its not printing out a int/float

Say this is my render method

public void render(batch){