Hello.
I'm looking for a good tutorial for creating a chat messenger in java. I checked this link but it was not good and clear, was poor tutorial without clear explanation and details.
Can you help me with another tutorial? Tutorial video or text both are good.
(Let me mention that i'm new to java)
Thank you.

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

Hello Niloofar24! :)
Creating a chat box (or chat messenger) will likely use Threads. You're going to want to learn about those to handle the messages going back and forth. But this is a bit of an advanced topic. How new are you to Java? If you're a Novice you'll want to work your way up by learning the basics first.

I agree.
You will need to create a user interface, create a IP server and an IP client, make a network connection, send data by using streams, and do all that in multiple threads. If you are new to Java this is far too much to tackle in one go. Have a look a our thread on projects for beginners (at the top of the forum listing) and try something simpler first.

Yes, it's my second day in Java. I decided to create a chat messenger so i have started to learn Java. Of course i'm not new to programming, i code in c++, Python and php.
I thought maybe it's better to start with a good tutorial for creating chat messenger from the first step.

OK, if you really really want..
Here's an excellent tutorial on client/server messaging. It' part of the Oracle tutorials, which are by far the most complete, accurate and up-to-date tutorials for Java. Get started here.
Many other tutorials on the web are either out of date or downright wrong, so be careful out there.