I've placed a CSV file into an array with C++ with each row being a single array element, but the file contains many, many columns that I don't need. I only need columns 1,2,3,4,6,7 out of about 50. Is is best to read the full value into the array and then edit it or only read in those values that I need? Either way, I'm stuck and don't know how to proceed either way. I'm new at this and I've been unable to find resources about this online. Any help would be appreciated.

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

I've placed a CSV file into an array with C++ with each row being a single array element, but the file contains many, many columns that I don't need. I only need columns 1,2,3,4,6,7 out of about 50. Is is best to read the full value into the array and then edit it or only read in those values that I need?

This depends on what you are going to do with the data read. If you are going to edit the data in those columns and write it back to a file, along with the rest of the columns, you will have to read and store all the data. If you only want the values, and they are discarded after use, you can create an array of only 6 elements with multiple rows, and store the columns you need to that array.

As for how to proceed, paste the current code where you are reading the csv values into the array, and maybe we can work something out.

Remember I'm new at this, so I'm sure my code is horrible. This is in Visual Studio 2005. The Console::WriteLine and the cout of the lineCount are only for my purposes to make sure the program was actually working. They will be removed later.

#include "stdafx.h"
#include <iostream>
#include <string>
using namespace std;
using namespace System;
using namesapce System::IO;
using namespace System::Collections;

int _tmain()
{
StreamReader^ reader;
int lineCount = 0;
reader = gcnew StreamReader("\\\\<server>\\<file>.csv");
String^ data;

ArrayList^ theArray = gcnew ArrayList(lineCount);

while(0<reader->Peek())
{
data = reader->ReadLine();