Hi all,

I'm working in the C language.

I've been stuck for 2 weeks trying to figure out how in the world to populate arrays after reading in an input FILE. the input file has numbers and words, I need to write a loop that grabs the integers and stores them in an int array, and also store the characters into the char array. Please Help I'm so desparate. My teacher is no help because he just gets angry at you for not knowing. kinda dumb since im just learning how to do it all. (GEEZ.)

here's what i got....

#include<stdio.h>
#include<stdlib.h>

void read();

int main()
{
   read();
   return 0;  
}

void read()
{
   char w[1000]; 
   int n[1000];
   int i;
   FILE *f;
   f = fopen("input.txt","r");

while(i < 1000)
   {      
      if (fscanf(f, "%c%d", &w[i], &n[i])!= EOF)
      {
         printf("%c%d", w[i], n[i]);         
      }      
      else
      {
         break;
      }                
   }          
   fclose(f);   
}

this doesn't work, but I'm stuck.

Thanks for the help

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Hello,

First thing: you never initialize i. Delare i as int i= 0;

input file has numbers and words

You're scanning for char's not words. You need a 2 dimensional array of chars if you want to store all the words.

Could you give an example of what the inputfile looks like?

Hello,

First thing: you never initialize i. Delare i as int i= 0;

You're scanning for char's not words. You need a 2 dimensional array of chars if you want to store all the words.

Could you give an example of what the inputfile looks like?

Oh yes I was editing the file i forgot to add that "int i" intializes at zero. thanks.

the input file looks like this....

plants
trees
dogs
bark
bear
tiger

You can't use fscanf(f, "%c%d", &w[i], &n[i]) try fgets(), it's reads a file line by line an returns 0 when EOF. Then every even line use a function like atoi() to convert the number to int and your done.