Hi there everyone, im new to programming and havent the faintest clue where to start (just so you know:rolleyes: ) . I want to learn C++ but havent the apps to test or write it. I downloaded the microsoft visual studio and it confused the hell outa me. Can anyone recommend a free app i can use to write and view my C++?

I have php pad which allows me to write but doeant have any option to view, what is a compiler? i know windows has one but how does it work?

Show pitty on the programming noob, maybe i can hook you up with some seo advice in return :cheesy:

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Compilers turn the code you write into instructions your computer will understand. A linker links files to your program and finds the functions and variables contained within those files. An IDE (Integrated Development Environment) usually contains both a compiler and a linker and also usually has other software bundled in like a debugger, etc. I found that the free downloadable IDE called Dev C++ was pretty much download and go, but others have reported some difficulty setting it up. There are other IDEs as well, and someone may be able to help you set up your version of MSVC if you post what steps you've taken and explain the problem(s) you are having in as much detail as you can; include what OS you are using.

>I downloaded the microsoft visual studio and it confused the hell outa me.
Anything will at first. Either you have to deal with the complexity of an IDE (that's a compiler, debugger, editor, etc.. all rolled up into one graphical application), or the complexity of learning command line tools. You should learn both, but starting with an IDE will probably be easier. Since you already have Visual Studio, I can walk you through setting up a project and testing it.

Step 1) Go to File->New->Project
Step 2) From the project templates list, choose Empty Project[1]
Step 3) Type in whatever name you want for the project and hit OK