I'm new to vb.net though I've done a fair bit of work in vb6. My problem is this. I have a form with two tabcontrols and on the tab pages are text boxes, group boxes, check boxes, etc. for entering parameters. While I'm developing using debuggging in vb.net 2005, each time I run the project the controls shrink and move to the left. I understand the vb.net resizes controls according to the fonts used but I haven't changed any fonts and anyway, why would they be moved even if they are resized. I'll resize a control and 2-3 debug sessions later it is unusable because the width is too small to read or enter text. Is there a setting I don't know about?

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Member Avatar for iamthwee

This is odd do you have any code so I can see what you mean?

This is odd do you have any code so I can see what you mean?

The code is large (10000 lines) - adapted from the vb6 project. However, the only sizing/resizing I do is what vb.net does for me to load/initialize controls and when the form resize event is fired. I'll share the latter here:

[vbcode]

Private Sub Main_Resize()

' this tab control is the one giving me trouble and nothing else on the tab control is resized by code

With TabControl2
.Width = Me.Width - 18
End With

With TabControl1
.Width = Me.Width - 18
.Height = Me.Height - TabControl2.Height - 80
End With

With zgProbability
.Width = TabControl1.Width - 12
.Height = TabControl1.Height - 45
End With

With zgHistogram
End With

With zgBox
End With

With zgAnnualBox
End With

With zgSeasonalBox
End With

With zgMonthlyBox
End With

With zgTimeSeries
.Height = TabControl1.Height - 82
End With

Me.Visible = True
With zgMaster
Me.Visible = True
End With

With dgSummary
End With

With dgData
End With

With dgModel
.Width = Me.TabControl1.Width - 12
' .Height = TabControl1.Height - 45
End With

end sub

Member Avatar for iamthwee

I need more than that. Code I can actually test and compile.

Cheers. If you could upload some pictures as well.