I would like to learn vb6.. I have NO experience in code... Is this something i could teach my self with books and stuff... What kind of math skills are required???

Recommended Answers

All 16 Replies

VB as such is pretty easy language to learn for a beginner. So don't worry, you can easily learn VB using some good books and reading forum threads for the problems people have previously faced.

No math as such is required for coding VB applications, but then again it depends on the kind of domain you are interacting with. But for general purpose application development, only school level mathematics is required.

well thats good news... can you recomend any books to get me started

Is there a reason you want to start with VB and not just try VB.Net?

I found the Wrox Press books really helpful when I was trying to teach myself. Though I did have a grasp of BASIC from many years ago.

VB6 came out nearly 10 years ago and apart from maintaining old apps nobody really uses it (I'll probably get told otherwise but nobody uses it for anything serious).

I suggest you try learning something that people currently use; the old VB developers now tend to be using VB.net or C#.

You can get Visual Studio Express that should be suitable for learning the ins and outs of the language but it is limited and the full version is expensive.

vb6 is easy for beginners im studying it at college but started when i was 13 and its very good to learn.

Basic high school algebra at most is all the maths stuff you need (and a knowlege of operator order i.e where to use brackets in calculations)

VB6 came out nearly 10 years ago and apart from maintaining old apps nobody really uses it (I'll probably get told otherwise but nobody uses it for anything serious).

See this thread, starting 3rd post from the bottom... ;)

See this thread, starting 3rd post from the bottom... ;)

:D