Hello,

I'm still very new to C++ and have encountered some trouble in understanding how exactly the copy constructor for a stack class (given as an example in the book I've been learning from) using a linked list works.

The interface for the classes:

template<class T>
class Node
{
public:
     Node(T theData, Node<T>* theLink) : data(theData), link(theLink){}
     Node<T>* getLink( ) const { return link; }
     const T getData( ) const { return data; }
     void setData(const T& theData) { data = theData; }
     void setLink(Node<T>* pointer) { link = pointer; }
private:
     T data;
     Node<T> *link;
};

template<class T>
class Stack
{
public:
     Stack( );
     //Initializes the object to an empty stack.

Stack(const Stack<T>& aStack);

Stack<T>& operator =(const Stack<T>& rightSide);

virtual ~Stack( );

void push(T stackFrame);
     //Postcondition: stackFrame has been added to the stack.

T pop( );
     //Precondition: The stack is not empty.
     //Returns the top stack frame and removes that top
     //stack frame from the stack.

bool isEmpty( ) const;
     //Returns true if the stack is empty. Returns false otherwise.
private:
     Node<T> *top;
};

The definition given for the copy constructor:

template<class T>
Stack<T>::Stack(const Stack<T>& aStack)
{
    if (aStack.isEmpty( ))
        top = NULL;
    else
    {
        Node<T> *temp = aStack.top; //temp moves
             //through the nodes from top to bottom of aStack.
        Node<T> *end;//Points to end of the new stack.

end = new Node<T>(temp->getData( ), NULL);
        top = end;
         //First node created and filled with data.
         //New nodes are now added AFTER this first node.

temp = temp->getLink( ); //move temp to second node
                     //or NULL if there is no second node.

while (temp != NULL)
        {
             end->setLink(
                       new Node<T>(temp->getData( ), NULL));
             temp = temp->getLink( );
             end = end->getLink( );