As you probably have already read, i am new to c/c++. I have a simple little question, as i am not sure what happens in c/c++.

If i were to start using Visual C++ Express 2005, would some of that knowledge work with something that is not visual? I know that this is a dumb question, but i really want to be sure.

Basically what i am asking is, if i learn VC++, would i be confined to just VC++, or could i use my knowledge of what i learn in VC++ on other things such as the GCC compiler, or other things. (i know that it won't be able to do the graphics, or the things like "windows.bla.bla" stuff, but other things like loops and math and whatnot).

Sorry if this is a dumb/poor question (and sorry for apologising so much), but i am really worried. I only know QBASIC, and that is out-of-date. I am afraid of getting behind in programming advanced(as i already am)...

Recommended Answers

All 17 Replies

Depends what you plan to learn with it. If you learn true, standard C/C++, then yes, you can transfer this to any compiler and it should work, not just a Microsoft compiler.

If you decide to learn .NET framework or MFC, you're going to be confined to Microsoft. Should you decide that you want to do Windows programming, but just use the plain Win API, then you can use pretty much any Windows compiler. And just so that you know, there's not pretty way of making a UI that's completely portable (sure there are libraries like WxWidgets, but that is uuuugly).

Hope this helps

I recommend that you start with standard C/C++ like joeprogrammer mentioned, and just get used to the language and its constructs. Afterwards you can familiarize yourself with specific libraries if you so desire.

Ok... How hard is it to REALLY learn the Windows API? I played with it a bit, but it looked complex... I have a time frame to learn C++ from now to the end of the semester here (may 7)... So would the Windoz API be best?

I am pretty good a learning code quick, so i THINK it MAY be possible...