Hi guys,

Can anyone help me with the following question? I am new to Shell Scripting and havent a clue how to use it. This is for a job I have applied for and i have never needed to use linux and have always been a Windows man. I probably shouldnt be saying that on a Linux forum :p but if anyone could help me out I would be so grateful.

Also if you could explain it a little bit that would also be great

Thanks

"Q4. A text file contains a list of numbers, one per line. Write a program that will print out 5 most commonly occurring numbers, one per line, without surrounding whitespace, in descending order. Assume that the numbers are contained in a file called numbers.txt =="

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

Bad disguise of a homework question if, you ask me. So, do your own homework.

As a hint, look at the man pages for the command sort. Then use a for loop, a counter variable, if, and echo (in that order).

Thanks for the hint. First things first. This isnt homework and if i knew where to look to do my own homework i wouldnt have posted...? This is genuinely for a job.

Again i sincerely thank you for the help, but less of the sarcasm.

"Q4. A text file contains a list of numbers, one per line. Write a program that will print out 5 most commonly occurring numbers, one per line, without surrounding whitespace, in descending order. Assume that the numbers are contained in a file called numbers.txt =="

Thanks for the hint. First things first. This isnt homework and if i knew where to look to do my own homework i wouldnt have posted...? This is genuinely for a job.

Again i sincerely thank you for the help, but less of the sarcasm.