I'm totally new to programming, but have been getting by fine so far.

I'm taking a highschool programming class, and am trying to do some of my assignments from home.

We've been told to work with <iostream.h> for our input and output, but for some reason, I get an error when I try to compile my programs at home;

fatal error C1083: Cannot open include file: 'iostream.h': No such file or directory

The thing is, my code builds without errors when I'm working at school!

I've tried moving the libraries around so that Visual C++ can locate it, but nothing has worked so far.

I really want to start working with <stdio.h> and printf() but I don't think my teacher would accept the work, since he's hellbent on getting us to code with older techniques. (Seems like the lines we're writing aren't very "hip" anymore, since everywhere I look outputs are accomplished with printf() and such.)

Sorry if it was a stupid question. I'll try fiddling some more while I wait for responses. :)

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

<iostream.h> is a deprecated header, and was never part of standard C++. I'm assuming you're using VC++6.0 or a similarly older version of Borland. The standard header is <iostream> so you may have to change it between school and home. You may consider raising the issue with your teacher, but there's a chance that he doesn't care, or may even get mad at you.

I really want to start working with <stdio.h> and printf() but I don't think my teacher would accept the work, since he's hellbent on getting us to code with older techniques. (Seems like the lines we're writing aren't very "hip" anymore, since everywhere I look outputs are accomplished with printf() and such.)

printf() is the C way of managing output, and it's much older than C++ output using cout. ;)

> We've been told to work with <iostream.h> for our input and output