Hi

I am new to C++ and I would be grateful for some help with the following:

#pragma argsused
int main(int argc, char **argv)
{
 AnsiString Line;
 int Index;

Line = ReadStringPr("Enter your text. It must not finish with a space character." );
Index = 1;
 while (Index <= Length(Line))
 if (Line[Index] != ' ');
 {
 WriteChar(Line[Index]);
 Index = Index + 1;
 }
 else
 WriteStringCr(' ');

while (Line[Index] == ' ');
        Index = Index + 1;

getchar();  // to keep the display on until you press Enter key
 return 0;
 }

Using Builder I get a misplaced else statement but I cannot seem to locate the source of the problem. I am trying to remove multiple character spaces entered by the user and output their entered text with only 1 character space between words.

Many thanks!!

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

Remove the semicolon here and you should have no problems:

if (Line[Index] != ' ');

Hi

What a quick replay thanks! The program compiles no problem but the screen is blank and does not reproduce what you input (containing multiple spaces between words) with a string containing only 1 space character between words :sad:. Is my loop flawed?!?

Thanks again.

Remove the semicolon here and you should have no problems:

if (Line[Index] != ' ');

Is this more what you're trying to do

//read each char of Line
{
   //if current char is not a space
   if (Line[Index] != ' ')//;
   {  
      //write current char to screen
      WriteChar(Line[Index]);
      Index = Index + 1;
   }
   else //if current char is a space
   {
      //have no idea what this does
      WriteStringCr(' ');

//ignore all consecutive spaces 
      while (Line[Index] == ' ')//;  this semicolon may have created an infinite loop not allowing anything to print to screen
        Index = Index + 1;
    }
}

Hi

That is exactly right although the corrected sentence is broken up with individual words being written out on separate lines rather than in one continuous sentence.

Thanks!!