As a psychologist, it's useful to be able to time people's reactions in milliseconds. What kind of accuracy could I expect to get in this regard from Python? From what I've read so far, it doesn't look like I can hope to get precise enough timing to get reliable results, but I'm having difficulty finding good sources. Anyone out there know for sure?

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

I'm not sure you'll get meaningful results from anything mouse-and-keyboard driven *because* the mouse and keyboard events can sometimes take unpredictable amounts of time to be passed along to your program.

I'm not a hardware expert, so I could be wrong about that ... but at least keep the possibility in mind.

That said, time.time() does indeed give fractional times. So it might work for your purposes, if you can find an independent way to check its reliability.

Jeff

Thanks for the thoughts. I did manage to find this web page, however, which claims it has some Python add-ons that can achieve sub-millisecond accuracy(!), depending on one's set up.

http://www.psychology.nottingham.ac.uk/staff/jwp/psychopy/home.php/Main/HomePage

I tend to believe it's possible because there are many experiments out there that do require millisecond accuracy and make use of computers.

It's not something I need badly right now, but it's nice to know that there's the option.

P.S. I don't know of any way to reliably test time.time() -- I mean, I tested it for second-level accuracy, but it wasn't surprising that it could handle that, heh.

If you have a windows machine, you can achieve accuracy better than 1 millisecond with time.clock() ...

# time.clock() gives wallclock seconds accurate to at least 1 millisecond
# it updates every millisecond, but only works with windows
# time.time() is more portable, but has quantization errors
# since it only updates updates 18.2 times per second

import time

print "\nTiming a 1 million loop 'for loop' ..."
start = time.clock()
for x in range(1000000):