I am new to C++ and programming in general, and am working on an upcoming homework assignment. I have run into several problems and would greatly appreciate assistance. The assignment is to write a code to determine area and volume in C++, using a While Loop. I am stuck with the while statement, I am not sure how to state when I want it to stop. Below is what I have so far.

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int area (int l, int w); // function prototype

int volume (int l, int w, int d); // function prototype

int main (int argc, char* argv[]) {

int length, width, depth; // parameters for the areas and volumes

int result; //result is output

cout << endl;

// read in the values of length, width, and depth

While (?)
{
      cout << "If you want the result of the calculation to be an area,";
      cout << endl;

cout << "place a 0 in the depth parameter ";
      cout << endl << endl;

cout << "Enter a length (postive integer): ";
      cin >> length;

cout << "Enter a width (postive integer): ";
      cin >> width;

cout << "Enter a depth (postive integer): ";
      cin >> depth;

cout << endl;

if (depth == 0) {
            result = area (length, width);
            cout << "With a length of " << length;
            cout << " and a width of " << width;
            cout << " the area is " << result << endl;
      } else {
            result = volume (length, width, depth);
            cout << "With a length of " << length;
            cout << " a width of " << width;
            cout << " and a depth of " << depth;
            cout << " the volume is " << result << endl;

} // end if

} // end loop
      return 0;

} // end main function

int area (int l, int w) {

int result;
      result=area(l,w);
      return result;

} // end area function

int volume (int l, int w, int d) {

int result;
result=volume(l,w,d);
return result;

} // end volume function

Thank you,
bmgee13

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Isnt it meant to be like:

While(car = red)