I am trying to write a code that asks for the user first and last name and concatenate the function displaying the user's lastname and then firstname example:
bob allen // first and then last name
allen, bob // last and then first name using the concatenate function:
This is what I done so far, this is my first time using this function my book C for dummies doesn't explain much for me or my book on-line

#include <stdio.h>
#include <string.h>

main()
{
        char str1[40];
        char str2[40];
 int name;

printf("Please enter your first name: ")
 scanf("%d", &first);
 printf("\nPlease enter your last name: ")
 scanf("%d", &last);

printf("\n%s\n", strcat(str2, str1));
 getchar();
 return 0;

}

But I was able to get this to work:

#include <stdio.h>
#include <string.h>

main()

{
       char str1[25]="James";
       char str2[]="Ballard";

printf("\n%s\n", strcat(str2, str1));
       getchar();
       return 0;
}

I got this one off of an on-line book example.

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

The first one will not compile because of these:
the printf statements need to have a ; at the end.
And the scanf statements need to be changed with the proper declared arrays. Instead of first needs to be str1 and instead of last needs to be str2. When you use scanf with arrays you don't the & operator. Also the "%d" in both functions need to be changed to "%s".

The second has the problem that you declared str1 of size 25 and str2 of size 8 by virtue of leaving empty the inside of the []. Ballard is only 7 plus the null terminator.
Then you want to add str1 to str2. There's not room there, declared to hold that.

Still neither one will give you exactly what you are asking for.
considere this:
>bob allen // first and then last name
The array that is going to hold the concatenate string needs to be big enough.

strcat( bob_array, " " ); /* you want space between name and last name */
strcat( bob_array, allen_array );