i'm having a bit of trouble as to finding out what languages sholuld i go for in making my career as a software developer , how do you compare between
.net ,c++, vc++, java ,v.b , sql,oracle etc.

presently i'm an under graduate and have a little knowledge of c & c++,what a c++ programmer is required to have as compared with a programmer of any other lang like .net or java.

which language has the max'm scope in present scenario, how's linux programming.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Don't just master one programming language as that won't able you to create commercial quality products but what you must do is to master at least two or at most three languages as by doing this ables you to run each others executable in whichever your main thread is. You must note that c++ is a very strong language.

One thing about c++ is taht it depends very heavily on microsoft's operating system unlike java new implementation of swing that has very low dependence on windows.

I hope this helps you

Yours Sincerely

Richard West

A good programmer, like a good carpenter, can use a variety of tools, and, when confronted with a new tool, can apply his/her understanding of the overall process to incorporate it.

So pick one language to start, but expect to learn other languages and tools all the time. There are a couple of broad categories of STYLES of languages, it's helpful to learn a language from each category (in my opinion):

C, C++, Java, etc are 'procedural' - you tell the computer what STEPS to take and the results depend on how good your steps are.