I'm studying C++ beginner book for a while and now I'm learning a function call by reference.
I understand how but I don't understand why....
I solved the problem which is in my book.
Problem: Create a void function called round() that rounds the value of its double argument to the nearest whole value. Have round() use a reference parameter and return the rounded result in this parameter. You can assume that all values to be rounded are positive. Demonstrate round() in a program. Use modf() standard library function.
So. I wrote the following code.

#include <iostream>
#include <cmath>
using namespace std;
void round (double  &d);
int main()
{
 double userd;
 cout <<"Enter a floating value: ";
 cin >> userd;
 round ( userd );
 cout <<"Your floating value rounded up to : " << userd <<"\n";
 return 0;
}
void round (double &d)
{
 double intpart, fractpart;
 fractpart = modf(d, &intpart);
 if (fractpart >= 0.5)
  d = intpart + 1;
 else d = intpart;
}

But it also can write this way(without reference parameter):

#include <iostream>
#include <cmath>
using namespace std;
int round (double  d);
int main()
{
 double userd;
 int i;
 cout <<"Enter a floating value: ";
 cin >> userd;
 i = round ( userd );
 cout <<"Your floating value rounded up to : " << i <<"\n";
 return 0;
}
int round (double d)
{
 double intpart, fractpart;
 fractpart = modf(d, &intpart);
 if (fractpart >= 0.5)
  intpart += 1;

return intpart;
}

The second code is more comfortable for me....
I understand in this case that book want me to practice writing a code for using reference parameter but I don't understand the benefit to use call by reference.
Please explain why I need to know the call by reference method.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

>Please explain why I need to know the call by reference method.
Okay, return two values.

If I return two values, then I will see the answer of my question?
Could anybody give me some simple exercise for return two values?
(Easy one for beginner use!!)