I'm quite new to C++ and programming and general and I have a question about arrays. I realize this has been asked before but it has never been sufficiently explained, nor have I ever even been able to use the code given. I work with the standard C++ library and if somebody could give a sufficient explaination along with code examples I would very much appreciate it.

My problem is this: I have a function that will generate random non-repeating values and then store those values in a local array. How would it be possible to use references to, in essence, "return" that array and store it in an equally sized array in the calling function. Thank you, if I am not even asking the right question and you have an entirely different solution, please do tell =D.

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Read-up the basics of arrays, function, function parameters.. then write a program and ask for help..

So does that mean I should show you the source code? I could show you but it will not compile and is completely wrong. I believe I've read "the basics." I'm not asking for actual source I just want to be pointed in the right direction. Should I, in fact, use a reference or am I off?

>> I'm not asking for actual source, I just want to be pointed in the right direction
That's good to know. Understandably the code you've written would be a good indication of which direction you're going in, so one can tell you whether to take a 180 degree turn or just 10 degree.. :)
If you want "general reference/direction" I would say just search for words random and array in forums and you'll have plenty of directions to go in..

Pass the array into the function and load it, rather than trying to pass back a local array from the function.

Thank you very much WaltP, that helps me tremendously. I'm not exactly sure how to implement what you mean as I'm so new, but you have put me in the right direction. Off to reading again! Thanks again.