Hello!As a newbie programmer I don't know how to freeze my command line output,when I execute a C program,in order to see the output.Output opens and closes very fast.The trick I know from Pascal to put a 'Readln' statement as a last line doesn't work(with a 'scanf' or something like that.Could anybody give me a clue about that?Thanks in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 17 Replies

This was the most frequently asked question once in dev-c++ forum, and i'm the most sure this topic has already been discussed many times in this forum as well. Maybe the shortest answer, use only fgets for input, this is the only right function for input, as it restricts the number of input characters, and it would always input the newline as well. Then you can easily use getchar to prevent program from ending. But if you still want to use some weird input methods, like cin, then you have to put fflush (stdin); before getchar.

A common way of pausing the program is to make use of the standard function getchar().

scanf() behaviour will mess up your ability to pause the program with getchar() sometimes. Read about it here.

But if you still want to use some weird input methods, like cin, then you have to put fflush (stdin); before getchar.

Best way is to avoid any `weird input methods' and do not start even
using fflush( stdin ) at all. Here is why not to use it.

Yes that's right, effect of fflush is undefined for stdin and it of course must not be used. But if they already do things insecurely, then they must use other uncertain things to compensate it, nothing to do, their choice. Then i say again that these who read would better remember, use only fgets for input. And if you use anything else for input, then delete all rubbish and use only fgets for input.

>Yes that's right, effect of fflush is undefined for stdin and it of course must not be used.
Then why did you tell the OP to use it?