i am totally new to the c++ arena.
i have been tasked with writing a program that asks for a number, asks for that many names, in the form, "last, first," sorts the names by last name, but displays them in the form, "first, last," then offers the user the chance to search for a first name.
i don't want someone to do it for me, but i am having trouble getting started.
i know i need a multi-dimensional array system.
how do i initialize it if i don't know how many names there will be?
if i want to write a sort function, how to i call a multi-dimensional array and return a new array from it?
this project has inspired me to switch majors.

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

>>how do i initialize it if i don't know how many names there will be?
If you use c++ vector class you don't need to know how many names because that class will expand and contract as needed.

>>if i want to write a sort function, how to i call a multi-dimensional array and return a new array from it?

You don't have to write a sort function because c++ already has a ready-made sort for you.

#include <vector>
#inlcude <string>
#include <algorithm>
<snip>
std::vector<std::string> array;

// now sort it
std::sort(array.begin(),array.end());

I hope that's correct.

To be able to help you best we need to know what tools you have available. For example if you don't know the first thing about the Standard Template Library then Ancient Dragon's solution isn't going to help much.

If you don't know STL then you'll need to use dynamic memory. With this alternative you'll also need to know the maximum length of each name. If you don't know the maximum length of each name then you'll have to guess. It's unlikely that any name will have more than 80 char, so you could use that value if you wish.

WARNING--code not tested

const int MAXLENGTH = 81; 
int numNames;
cin >> numNames;
char ** fullNames;
fullNames = new char[numNames];
for(int i = 0; i < numNames; ++i)
   fullNames[i] = new char[MAXLENGTH];