hi all:
I am a newbie , trying to connect my access to vb.net express edition I wrote the following code:

Imports System.Data
Public Class Form1

Private Sub btnLoad_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles btnLoad.Click
Dim con As OleDb.OleDbConnection
con.ConnectionString = "PROVIDER=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0 ; Data Source = "C:\Documents and Settings\shassanzadeh\Desktop\Sara\extra\AddressBook.mdp"

End Sub
End Class

but the compiler gives me error for this line:
con.ConnectionString = "PROVIDER=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0 ; Data Source = "C:\Documents and and Settings\shassanzadeh\Desktop\Sara\extra\AddressBook.mdp"

the erros says:Character constant must contain exactly one character.
can you guys help me ...

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

You don't need to surround the database path in quotes inside a connection string. The key/value pairs are all delimited. It should look like this instead.

con.ConnectionString = "PROVIDER=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0; Data Source=C:\Documents and Settings\shassanzadeh\Desktop\Sara\extra\AddressBook.mdp"

thanks hamrick
I did that now I have this code :
Private Sub Button1_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Button1.Click
'seting the data connection
Dim sql As String
Dim con As New OleDb.OleDbConnection
Dim ds As New DataSet
Dim da As OleDb.OleDbDataAdapter
con.ConnectionString = "PROVIDER=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0; Data Source=C:\Documents and Settings\shassanzadeh\Desktop\Sara\extra\AddressBook.mdp"
'setting the data Adaptor and Data set

con.Open()
Sql = "SELECT * FROM tblContacts"
da = New OleDb.OleDbDataAdapter(Sql, con)
MsgBox("connection open")
con.Close()
MsgBox("connection close")

End Sub

and no syntex error but while I compile it doesnt show any thing and after that I get this error"OleDbException was unhandled "and it poits to a yellow line on con.open()