I start C tomorrow and reading my book. When I run and compile this code it comes up in DOS and runs the code but then the DOS window closes. I'm new with C, can someone tell me why the DOS window flashes and then closes? Here's my code:

#include <stdio.h>

int main( void )
{
    printf( "\t\"whoops\b\b\b\bew\n\"\n");

return 0;
}

Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 17 Replies

It's for some reasons better to compile and run the programs using command line, but if you want to use ide, then you may write something like this in the end:

printf ("== press enter ==\n");
getchar ();

Notice that you cannot use any other single character than newline for that, when you use only standard c, because in standard c the standard input is line buffered.

It's for some reasons better to compile and run the programs using command line, but if you want to use ide, then you may write something like this in the end:

getchar ();

Notice that you cannot use any other single character than newline for that, when you use only standard c, because in standard c the standard input is line buffered.

That seemed to do the trick, I'm a bit confused on the getchar() is it keeping the DOS window up because it's getting the charactor?

The window gets destroyed when the program ends. If you call getchar so that it blocks for input, the program doesn't end and the window isn't destroyed until getchar returns.

getchar ();

This would be better

printf("Hit 'ENTER' to exit\n");
fflush(stdout);
(void)getchar();

So getchar is a function that's basically waiting for a charactor, thus keeping the DOS window open, correct?

I just want to make sure i'm understanding this correctly, thanks for your patients.

:)

This would be better

printf("Hit 'ENTER' to exit\n");
fflush(stdout);
(void)getchar();