I am a beginner in programming, I wanted to well verse in basic languages like c & C++. While talking about the theory I can easily understand the concepts, but If I need to write a program with simple concept I am struggling to even think of it. I wanted to become a good programmer, I know the basics of C, C++. Wat I have to do next, is there anyone to help me in this concern.

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

practice, practice and more practice. write a simple game, such as hangman or tick-tack-toe. The concepts will become more firmly set in your mind with more coding.

i'd say start with simpler things, like bidimensional array manipulation, fibonacci... maybe a Tic-tac-Toe, or a Battleship... just so you get used to loops and pointers and that stuff...

I'm also a beginner a. For 2 weeks I read the entire c++ book with nore than 1200 pages. I know all the theory ,but not a master yet. I can say that we have to use the power of our imagination and reasoning or logic to create a simple or complicated programs, but we have to start from simple one.

the most important thing about programming in any language is how you use your imagination to know what you're going to do, and how your program is going to look like when finished... at least that's what i do...

Places to practice and hone your skills.
1. Any question asking for help on a forum such as this, just to see if you can do it. If you can do it, fine, but don't post the complete solution. Instead, offer hints to the solution which the OP can pick up on.
You only truly understand something when you can explain it in simple terms to someone else.

2. Online programming contests (scroll to end)
There are many sites which have a vast array of problems from the very simple to the very difficult.

3. Open Source
Find a small open source project which you can get excited about.
- Download the source, build it, run it
- Study the code in detail