Sir, I have prepared programme using VB6 and Access2003. The programme is working very fine so far as adding,deleting,modifying the record through VB is concerned. I have installed Crystal Report 8.5 and have prepared a report and save as (bill.rpt) but I dont know how to connect the report with VB. The path of report is C:\ks\bill.rpt and path of database in Access is C:\ks\exp.mdb
I shall be grateful if you kindly help me
1. to connect the report with VB and
2. to pass a query in which if I enter America in Text1.text in VB and Click the command button VIEW the report should generate only the name and age of all the person who live in America within the field (address).
The Data base fieldname are Name, age and address

I am very new to CR so pl write all the code to write within the click event procedure of command button VIEW so that I may not add anything else.

thanking you in anticipation

Keshar

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

you have to create an ODBC connection with the access database to connect your program to the crystal report. then create an query and make the report based on that query. after that you will call the query in your program and the rest will be handled by ur apps.

first of all u have to create an query in ur access db. then...

if u r not familiar with how to create an access odbc connection plz follow the steps:-

1.goto control panel->administrative tools->database(odbc connection)
2.in user dsn tab select add
3.select microsoft access driver .mdb from list and click finish
4.enter ur dsn name(this can be anything)
5.click select and locate ur access db
6.click ok
7.then ok again to create the dsn

after creating it goto crystal report and select the dsn under the odbc section from the connection tree while u select to create a new blank report.

use the query what u created in ur db to fetch the fields from it into the report. create the report based on that query.