Hello everyone. I suppose I should start off with an introduction. I'm new to the whole C++ environment. I've done some scripting in perl, but just started with C++. I've picked up a few books and looked around on the web now for about 5 months. Finally came across this site last night. I don't have to much time to spend actually programming or reading because I'm currently in Iraq, but once I get back to the states I plan on using the military to pay for college. Going to go the Computer Science route.

I've read the messages posted here on the sticky section. I've already ordered the first book, accelerated C++. It should arrive in about 6-7 days. Currently I am reading the Sam's Teach Yourself C++ in 21 Days book. It's okay, but pretty bland. It also over uses source code examples, rather then just a snippet. This is just my perspective that I have gathered based on books I really enjoyed, such as the Llama, Alpaca, and Camel books for perl. What do you guys think of the Sam's book? Don't want to learn a style and then try to unlearn nasty habits..

The main thing I am having trouble understanding at this time, besides pointers and references of course, is the way variables and strings work. In perl, you had scalar and list context. Scalar data just meant single values, much like int, unsigned short int, or even char. List of course is for several, list styled values. These were stored in Arrays and Hashes. I've got a feeling most of the people here have at least a basic understanding of perl, so I am most likely wasting my time explaining this, but for my question I find it necessary to put the mindset I have right now out there.