This program was suppose to be with a function but I am trying to write without a function first, then adding one later. I am new to programming and still gettin basics. I got this much but its only giving me a 1 and a 0. Ive tried to find the fix, can you guys help me out please?

#include <iostream>
#include <ctime>
#include <cstdlib>
using namespace std;

int main()
{
unsigned heads = 0;
unsigned tails = 0;
unsigned flips =  0;

cout<<"enter number of times to flip the coin."<<endl;
cin>>flips;
flips = rand() % 2;
for (int i = 0; i < flips; i ++)
{
if ( flips == 0 )
heads = heads ++;
else
tails ++;
}

cout<< " You flips tails "<<tails<<" times"<<endl;
cout<< " You flips heads "<<heads<<" times"<<endl;
system("pause");
return 0;
}

Recommended Answers

All 16 Replies

It generates only 0 and 1 because rand() % 2 only finds a number between 0 and one. To find a number between one and two you could either do flips = (rand() % 2) + 1 or flips = (rand() % 3); Also, this is unneeded heads = heads ++; . Below you do it correctly with tails++

You've tried to fix what ??? There are only two choices -- heads or tales -- 0 or 1. what else do you want?

[edit] Ohhhh, I think I see the problem. after getting user input you immediately change it to either 0 or 1. Delete that line. [/edit]

I need a user to enter the nubmer of times to flip the coin, then have it spit out how many were heads and tails. So like, I want to flip the coin 50 times. How many are heads and how many tails.

looks like that is what your program already does. What makes you think it doesn't work right ?

I enter say 55, and I only get output of 1 and 0.. instead of like 25 were heads and 25 were tails.. just says 1 is heads and 0 was tails.

There are two problems with your program.

1. Move line 15 down to just after line 17 -- it needs to be inside that loop.
2. don't use variable name flips at lines 15 and 18 because that destroyes the loop counter. use some other variable name.