Hey,

i am a complete newbie to C++ and have a task to do. i have looked all though my textbook and all over the net and have not found any examples similar. my problem is i am trying to read from a text file and store the data as an array. an example of the data is below:

test1
party1
test2
party2

somehow i need to read them into an array something like:

[test1, party1, 234, 321, 23, 4]
[test2, party2, 4532, 90, 0, 0] and so on......

i know you are meant to post some of your own code but like i said i have no idea. any help would be appreciated, even just somewhere to start.

thankyou in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Member Avatar for GreenDay2001

You may use getline() . Here's tutorial on file i/o. Read and try yourself, if you encounter any problem you can post here.

you mean you want to concantinate all those words into one big comma-separated string? Not too difficult to do if you use std::string c++ class

std::string the line;

while read a word is successful
   line += string;
   line += ", ";
end of while loop

now the line will have a trailing ", " which you will have to strip back off.

Member Avatar for iamthwee

you mean you want to concantinate all those words into one big comma-separated string? Not too difficult to do if you use std::string c++ class

std::string the line;

while read a word is successful
   line += string;
   line += ", ";
end of while loop

now the line will have a trailing ", " which you will have to strip back off.

Incorrect, the commas in his example were used merely to communicate the fact that the words are separate entities in the array.

It also appears that:

test1 ... test[n]

Has a defined pattern. In other words, it might be useful to consider using a class or struct to relate the items in some manner.

>i have looked all though my textbook and all over the
>net and have not found any examples similar.