Hi all. I'm a newbie to this forum so please forgive the odd question as first post... :-)

I'm writing myself a property class (just because I want to play with them). My property header looks something like this (all the usual clutter is removed):

#define property_readwrite( c, v, r, w ) property::property_t <c, v, &c::r, &c::w, (c::v *)0, (c::v *)0>
#define property( a, c, v, ... )  property_ ## a( c, v, __VA_ARGS__ )

namespace property {

template<
  typename Container,
  typename ValueType,
  ValueType (Container::*getf)(),
  void (Container::*setf)( ValueType value ),
  ValueType Container::*getv,
  ValueType Container::*setv
  >
class property_t {
  };

}

And I use the "property()" template macro thus:

class Person {
  private:
    unsigned f_age;
    void set_age( unsigned new_age );
  public:
    property( readwrite, Person, unsigned, f_age, set_age ) age;
  };

But the compiler complains that I am only supplying three of the six required template arguments. However, when I use the g++ -E option and look at my code I see:

property::property_t <Person, unsigned, (Person::unsigned *)0, &Person::set_age, &Person::f_age, (Person::unsigned *)0> age;

I've tried both the "property()" macro and the more direct "property_readwrite()" macro and both give the same error. Any idea why I am getting this grief?

Thanks in advance.

Bump.

It seems that the problem is that GCC won't let me pass NULL as a template value. There are two types of property access: direct and indirect. Direct access is when the property links directly to a class variable. Indirect is when the property links to a class method. I wanted to have the ability to use direct as well as indirect access, so my template includes fields for both types:

template<
  ValueType (Container::*getf)(),              // indirect read access
  void (Container::*setf)( ValueType value ),  // indirect write access
  ValueType Container::*getv,                  // direct read access