Hi all I'm studying C and I have to do an exercise that requires me to open a file and count the number of times a letter occurs,either small or capital.
For example,I have a text file in C:\text.txt with the contents "World In Conflict".So in my example the letter "c" is counted twice.After I have finished counting the letters,I have to make
a graphical representation that's to be like this :

6	|						
5	|						
4	|						
3	|						
2	|			*			
1	|			*			*
-	+	-	-	-	-	-	-
	|	A	B	C	D	E	F

that's from A to F,obviously I need from A-Z.

This is what I have done so far :

#include<stdio.h>
#include<conio.h>
#include<stdlib.h>

FILE *a;
char b;
int count;

int main()
{
 clrscr();
 a=fopen("C:\\text.txt","r");

while (1)
{
 b=fgetc(a);
 if (b>64 && b<91) ++count
 if (b>97 && b<122) ++count
 if (b==EOF)
 break;
}
fclose(a);
printf("letters %d",count);
getch();
}

I thought using ASCII would be a good idea,but how can I specifically count the letters using ASCII ? I could do it using

if (b == "a" && b == "A") ++counta (this counts all "a"s and "A"s)

for all letters,but I don't think that's the point of this exercise.

Also,how do I design the GUI ? Our teacher said we should use "gotoxy" but I haven't been able to get a handle on it.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Each letter (in fact each character) has a specific numeric value. Each character can therefore be used as an index into an array in which you can increment the appropriate element. Then run through the array when done and output the values you need.

Unzip and run the attached program for an ASCII chart.

Hi all I'm studying C and I have to do an exercise that requires me to open a file and count the number of times a letter occurs,either small or capital.

There's a conversation about the same topic over here. Maybe it might help.
Take a look at this also.

commented: |*nods* +11
Member Avatar for iamthwee

>Our teacher said we should use "gotoxy"
I laughed at this!