First of all I would like to say that I am a super newb at C, and would appreciate any help possible. I have to read a text file of words and sort them in lexicographical order (alpha order), I tried using the bubble sort and got this error on lines 52 and 53. Please help me ... Heres the exact error..

Error E2277 Dictionary.c 52: Lvalue required in function dsort
Error E2277 Dictionary.c 53: Lvalue required in function dsort

IF you can respond asap that would be great,!

#include <stdio.h>

void dsort(char *name, char *words);

int main() {

char name[15];
char words[20][20];

printf("Please Enter a Filename for the dictionary File:\n\n");
scanf("%s", &name);
dsort(name, words);

return 0;
}

void dsort(char *name, char *words) {

char *wds[20][20];
//char wds1[20];
char temp;
int pass;
int i;

FILE *input_file = fopen(name, "r");

fscanf(input_file, "%s%s%s%s%s%s", wds[0],wds[1],wds[2],wds[3],wds[4],wds[5]);

//*words = wds;

printf("The Words are:%s\n%s\n%s\n%s\n%s\n%s\n", wds[0],wds[1],wds[2],wds[3],wds[4],wds[5]);

fclose(input_file);

for (pass=0;pass<6;++pass)
	{
		for (i=0;i<6;++i)
			{
				if (wds[i] > wds[i+1])
					{
					temp = wds[i];
		[B]Line52[/B]    wds[i] = wds[i+1];
                [B]line 53[/B]    wds[i+1] = temp;
					}
			}
	}

printf("The NEW Sorted Words are:%s\n%s\n%s\n%s\n%s\n%s\n", wds[0],wds[1],wds[2],wds[3],wds[4],wds[5]);

}

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

1. That function is doomed to fail because line 23 declared a 3d array of pointers. If what yoiu really want is a 2d character array where each element has room for 20 characters then you need to drop the star and just declare it like this: char wds[20][20]; 2. The two loops in your bubble sort are coded wrong. Should be this:

for (pass=0;pass<5;++pass)
{
     for(i = pass+1; i < 6; ++i)
     {
        // code here
     }
}

3. you have to use strcmp() to compare the two strings. Your program at line 43 is mearly comparing two pointers, not what they are pointing to.