Hi, I am new to C++ and I joined this forum with hopes of learning as much as i possibly can about the language. This seems like a nice place with a mature community. I bought a C++ book and I'm just now learning the basics such as goto, for, while, and do-while statements, but I'm already encountering problems

When I compile my code and I want to use "

cin >>

anything " I cannot use it because if i try, the

cin.get()

that I put at the end of the code doesn't execute, and I'm stuck with having to use

system( "pause")

If you need more clarification just say so, thanks a lot.

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

please post complete example -- what you posted doesn't make much sence.

For example, if i compile

int main ()
{
    int a;

cout << "Hello World";

cin.get();
 return 0;
}

Everything is fine, the Hello World message executes, and i get a blinking underscore waiting for me to press any key so that the window would close.

But, if I put in a "cin >>" anywhere in the code, the window no longer gives me a blinking underscore and closes the window in a split second after i type in whatever I want for "a" and press enter.

int main ()
{
    int a;

cout << "Hello World, how are you?";
    cin >> a;
  cin.get();
 return 0;
}

So I'm forced to use system( "pause" ) instead of cin.get() because that is the only way my window will stay open after all of the operations have been performed, and I have no idea how to fix it.

I hope this clarifies it a little bit more, thanks.

At the beginning of your program add

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

That should fix your problem.