Hi every bod y
I am new in programming and I like to start with pyqt but I can not find anything for learning in internet please help me how how can I write program with gt designer
& when I make a form in qt how can it work(my English is very bad …yes?)
What is the difference between qy & pyqt?

Recommended Answers

All 21 Replies

QT is a GUI (Graphics User Interface) toolkit and PyQT is the wrapper to make it work with the Python language. PyQT is not used much because of QT's inherent license problems. This might be the reason why there is little information on the internet.

If you are new to programming, I would stick with the Tkinter GUI toolkit that is part of the Python distribution. For more advanced GUI programming you can use wxPython. There are quite a number of Tkinter and wxPython examples in the snippet section on this forum.

in my opinion, PyQt is very good gui toolkit. also i'm bad at english too but i try to read english books. according to me first learn python than pyqt. i advice you
Beginning Python: From Novice to Professional by Magnus Lie Hetland (Author)
Rapid GUI Programming with Python and Qt by Mark Summerfield (Author)

I am not debating the merits of QT or PyQT, I am making you aware of the license requirements for QT. Should you ever develop a product using QT, you will need to pay the QT folks. This is the main reason that QT is not very popular with the open source Python crowd.

I have not tried QT or Tkinter but I have tried wxPython. I learned a lot from the book WxPython in Action by Noel Rappin and Robin Dunn. wxPython has been great to work with. I have also heard good things about Tkinter as well.

David

I know that this thread is quite old now but in my understanding The Open Source Editions of Qt is freely available for the development of Open Source software governed by the GNU General Public License (GPL)