Hi.

I'm a newbie at this forum. I've been using Delphi 3.0 for a long time, but have run into some problems I just don't know how to handle.

I'm looking for some coding tips on how to do certain things in Delphi ObjectPascal.

First of all, is Delphi 3.0 hopelessly obsolete? I've been using it at least since 1998 and it seems to work as well on XP as it did on Windows 98 and later 2000.

I am working with foreign language text, building a translation tool, and I have to input text in various languages and the special characters don't always get handled properly.

In particular, certain Unicode characters can be pasted from another site into my program, but when I save them in a Rich Text File (using a Rich Text Editor control gizmo), some of these Unicode characters don't get stored properly or at all. They may look fine on the screen when first pasted, but get converted to a ? internally, so that my program never sees those characters. An example would be the letter e with a single dot over it, as opposed to e with an accent (acute or grave, é, è, ) or an umlaut (ü). I don't even know how to enter such a Unicode character using the U.S. International Keyboard in windows, although I'm sure where there's a will there's a way. So far I've mostly had to deal with characters generated by other people and I cut and paste the text to process through my program.

I'd really love to be able to save Unicode in a file and read it into my Delphi program automatically using the Load From File routine (I forget the exact name). I'm just not sure if the 16-bit Unicode characters can be stored in the Lines array within the Rich Text Editor control in Delphi.