Okay, I got a school assignment and got a problem here.
It says that:
D:\Skola\Programmering A\Inlämningsuppgifter\inlupp_2\Inlupp_2.pas:5: parse error before `:='

I know there's wrong with the array, but I want the user to write how many letters his/her name contains so that the array can take each letter out later to make it spelled backwards or something (if it's possible)

I'm a noob on this and I really want to learn, but this error is one I've never gotten before.

Code (HTML'ed so it's easier to read):

PROGRAM inlupp2;
{small bolded letters are "mini" local programs and big bold letters are the "Global" program}
{Here's the resources for my program}

USES
{Get's me some commands to give colours and clear screen etc.}
crt;
VAR
{Variables in my program}
i,firstnamelettercount:integer;
{An array in my program}
firstnameletters:array[1..firstnamelettercount] of integer;

{Here the main program starts}
BEGIN
Writeln('Welcome to Patrik "Loyen" Freijs latest program.');
Delay(2000);
writeln;
writeln('We will start with some questions so we know WHO you are.');
Delay(3000);
writeln;
write('We will start off with');
Delay(1000);
write(' how many letters does your first name contain? ');
{Here we makes the user write in an answer for "firstnameletters"}
readln(firstnamelettercount);
write('Your name includes ',firstnamelettercount,'. Now tell us your name.');

readln;
END.

Please help this swedish noob!

*updated code*

Recommended Answers

All 15 Replies

When you post code, stick it in code blocks:

[[I][/I]code=Pascal[I][/I]]
program Hello;
begin
writeln( 'Hello, world!' )
end.
[[I][/I]/code[I][/I]]

becomes:

program Hello;
begin
writeln( 'Hello, world!' )
end.

This is the easiest to read and use. Click the little Toggle Plain Text link at the top to get something you can copy and paste.

You have not posted the code you tried to compile. There is no := in there at all.

Some suggestions:
- Don't use delay. It is obnoxious and unnecessary.