Hi,

I'm a newbie to this group. I heard a question in C to swap the two strings using command line arguments but without using the temp. string,pointer or array

Can anyone help me how to do this.

Recommended Answers

All 23 Replies

Search for your problem before posting. It is likely that someone might have faced the same problem earlier.

Do you have an example of what you're trying to do?

Since you said "swap without a temp", perhaps you're referring to this dumb trick?
http://c-faq.com/expr/xorswapexpr.html

Hi,

Thank u for ur reply.
My aim is to swap two strings without using a temporary pointer or char array, but i have to use command line arguments for getting the two strings as input.

I don't think there is a general way to do it. A char data type is not large enough to use the method that Salem posted. And my compiler VC++ 2005 Express doesn't allow this either even when I typcast the pointers to unsigned long.

int main(int argc, char* argv[])
{
    if(argc == 3)
    {
        (unsigned long)argv[1] ^= (unsigned long)argv[2] ^= (unsigned long)argv[1] ^= (unsigned long)argv[2];
        cout << argv[1] << "\n";
        cout << argv[2] << "\n";

}

}

At the risk of being repetitive for having mentioned this before, you may not have write access to your command line arguments. Moreover, you can't change their size. I think it is perfectly within reason to copy them into local character arrays:

int main( int argc, char *argv[] ) {
  char *s1, *s2;
  int len, len2;

if (argc < 3) {
    printf( "fooey!\n" );
    return 1;
    }

/* len <-- size of the longest string */
  len  = strlen( argv[ 1 ] );
  len2 = strlen( argv[ 2 ] );
  len  = (len < len2) ? len2 : len;

/* get the strings */
  s1 = (char *)malloc( len );
  s2 = (char *)malloc( len );

strcpy( s1, argv[ 1 ] );
  strcpy( s2, argv[ 2 ] );

printf( "Given the strings:\n" );
  printf( "1. %s\n", s1 );
  printf( "2. %s\n", s2 );

/* (do your swap here) */

printf( "Now the strings are:\n" );