I guess I'm having a lot of problems tonight with this program I'm trying to accomplish for myself... I'm trying to write an application called TestNumFactors which defines a static method with header "public static int numFactors(int n)". When numFactors is called, it should return the number of factors of n as its result. I'm trying to get the program to call numFactors 3 times, passing the arguments 6, 28, and 100, and print out the returned values for each.

Next, I'm trying to get the second program MostFactors to read a positive number from the client, and print out the number and the # of factors it has. So for example, I'm trying to get it to output:

6 - 3
8 - 3
10 - 3

I've never used numFactors before, so I'm pulling my hair out. I know countFactors can be called countFactos(<number>) to get the result, but I don't think that applies to numFactors, does it? All I have so far (even though I know it's very misguided and incorrect) is:

public class TestNumFactors
{

public static void main (String[] args)
	{
	}

public static int numFactors(int n)
	{

numFactors(6);
	       numFactors(8);
	       numFactors(10);

return();

}

}

Most times, I get things down right away without issue, but sometimes, I just hit a brick wall I can't get around no matter how hard I try.

As always, thanks to everyone for the help!

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

First, move the calls to numFactors to your main method. Second you need to implement the numFactors method which you can do by

for (int i=1; i<=n/2; i++) // since any num > n/2 is not a factor
{
    if (n % i == 0) {
         // i is a factor of n!
    }
}
return countOfFactors;

The % operator is modulo arithmetic. A factor is any number that the number is divisible by (ie mod = 0).

Hope this helps,
darkagn :)

I received this help from a kind soul on a different site....