I am hoping to get some code for the following problem

I need to verify that a user input the time in the following format:

cout<<"please enter the start time(hh:mm:ss): ";
cin>>stime;
//Verify user input time correctly

cout<<"please enter the end time(hh:mm:ss): ";
cin>>etime;
//Verify user input time correctly

**Then I convert the start time and end time to seconds and return elapsed seconds (dont need help on this part)**

So basically I am asking for code either using tokens or otherwise that could verify user input.
I am an old C/assembly programmer that doesnt know c++ very well, and I best understand from seeing code.
If there is a better way to collect time from user, that is also welcome.

Thanks a ton everyone who helps!!!

Daniel

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

>So basically I am asking for code either using tokens or otherwise that could verify user input
Hmm, you probably wouldn't like me to recommend Boost::Regex if you're not terribly comfortable with C++. Are you using C-style strings or the C++ string class to hold the input?

>I am an old C/assembly programmer that doesnt know c++ very well
That's convenient, because the libraries and techniques for dealing with dates and times hasn't changed from C to C++. You still use the old familiar time.h stuff (though the header is now called ctime).

1> I am trying to keep the code and file as small as possible, and you are right, I do not feel comfortable with using 3rd party regex libraries...

2> I want to to use C++ string classes...and this is the hardest part, because in C, this problem is fairly straightforward.

3>Is ctime much different than time.h? Like, does it still use the tm strcture? tm_hour, tm_min, tm_sec, etc?

**I'll be honest, I already wrote this program in C, and I need to write it in C++ as well, and send both sources to a future employer, and I am frustrated with how C++ handles strings, although the frustration is not so much with C++ as it is with my lack of knowledge**