Hello, I'm a python beginner & I'm learning it on my own. So, I've few (dumb) questions about it.

• Where should I host a python project on linux? I'm sure there'd be multiple choices. So, Where would you host it & on what circumstances?

• I understand that virtualenv creates a virtual environment separate from others. But, why should one need it? Do we use it in production too, if so, why?

• If I want to create a web application using python? What server should I choose & on what basis should I choose them for a given project.

Thank you very much in advance. :)

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Where should I host a python project on linux? I'm sure there'd be multiple choices. So, Where would you host it & on what circumstances?

Github,Bitbucket...
If you mean web-host,pythonanywhere,Heroku,Webfaction,Digital ocean...

I understand that virtualenv creates a virtual environment separate from others. But, why should one need it? Do we use it in production too, if so, why?

You pip install stuff into virtualenv,
so you always get newest versions of modules/package.
It's isolatet,so it don't mess with your OS version of Python.
As you see in this Getting Started tutorial is normal to use virtualenv when using a web-host.

If I want to create a web application using python? What server should I choose & on what basis should I choose them for a given project.

Flask and Django has build in webserver,
this is good for working/testing local and building a web application.

When finish and want to deploy to web,
then think of(shall i use Gunicorn,Tornado,uWSGI or running mod_wsgi (Apache)?
Host like Pythonanywhere,Heroku make it easier to deploy Python code.

commented: great answer +14

Hi snippsat,

Thank you so much for your answer. There is a little misunderstand there, I guess. Here are detailed questions again.

• In the first question, ctually asking which directory on linux should I choose to place a project? Like /home/user/ or /var/www etc?