Hello people. I'm looking for FP examples that are very simple (very few lines, one-liners are even better) and that totally look like sorcery to a traditional imperative programmer. Can you help me with that? I want to show some old school programmers who are friends of mine but keep saying that all programming is exactly the same and that every single language in existence is a botchered, downgraded version of C. They also say that once you learn how to think the C way you'll be able to program in every other single language because they are mostly the same.

I am just starting out in FP, so I could only come up with a tail-recursive factorial and it's got them near brain-explosion mode because they think there is only one possible type of recursion.

Any other cool weid-looking examples?

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

I have to agree that the basics do help when you learn a new language. My first was Fortran which at the time there was no C language but there was Fortran, PL/1, Cobol and such.

What about testing for equality? You would think that's a basic thing you learn in C then get blown out of the water in JavaScript (JS.)
Watch https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hQVTIJBZook and move to the 15 minute mark to see where a C programmer may get burned.

commented: [] + [] == "" yep, sounds about right +7

Not a functional language, but Prolog is pretty cool.

hanoi(1,FROM,TO,_) :- write('disk from '),
                      write(FROM),
                      write(' to '),
                      write(TO),
                      nl.
hanoi(N,FROM,TO,X) :- N > 1,
                      NMIN1 is N - 1,
                      hanoi(NMIN1,FROM,X,TO),
                      hanoi(1,FROM,TO,_),
                      hanoi(NMIN1,X,TO,FROM).
hanoi(N) :- hanoi(N,a,c,b).

Would solve the tower of hanoi problem for any number of disks. You would run it with a command like:

hanoi(3,left,right,center). 

And it would print:

disk from left to right
disk from left to center